Where and when to get married

Now that everyone knows that we’re going to get married, it’s time to figure out where we’ll have the ceremony and the reception.

BAGUIO VS. TAGAYTAY

If you live in Metro Manila like me, you know how bad the traffic is. So for now, we’re looking at out-of-town locations – Tagaytay and Baguio. I know what you’re thinking, “Baguio? That is sooo far. How are your guests gonna get there?” (For those who are not from the Philippines, Baguio is around 250 kilometers north of Manila. In the olden days, it takes around 7 hours to drive from Manila to Baguio. But nowadays, with new routes, you can drive there for 4 to 5 hours.)

In my defense, it’s Ivan who really wants to look into Baguio (Sorry dear. Ilalaglag muna kita before my relatives and friends kill me). 

And it’s for a good reason. First, it fits into our theme.

(In my previous post, I wrote about how Ivan and I have long been discussing marriage. We even thought of a theme already. Hint: Something pop culture. I won’t reveal it yet because it’s a bit crazy but I’m sure our guests will be delighted when they see the finished product/decor.

READ: The Proposal

So our theme incorporates a bit of Christmas spirit. The pine trees and cold weather in Baguio are perfect. You also have a bit of that in Tagaytay but Tagaytay is already the go-to place for weddings. And if you know me and Ivan, we tend to be slightly non-conformists. 

Burnham Park in Baguio.
Photo by Tine Sabillo

PROS AND CONS

The week of the proposal, Ivan and I had more discussions about where we want the wedding to be held and we agreed that we should explore Tagaytay and Baguio first. There are of course a lot of considerations. There are pros and cons for both locations. While Baguio is definitely scenic and unique, it’s not as popular as Tagaytay as wedding destination. This means, that there are not a lot of suppliers to choose from. Meanwhile, while Tagaytay is popular and relatively near Metro Manila, costs can be higher there because it’s so in-demand. 

During the first week, not a lot of the hotels from Baguio responded to my inquiries since it was the holidays. Meanwhile, most of the venues in Tagaytay replied. And while I respect the fact that people need to go on holidays too (I mostly don’t because of the nature of my work), I think it is reflective of the kind of customer service that we will experience from them in the long-run.

On the other hand, do I really want to get married in one of those generic events places or hotels in Tagaytay? Why not opt for a rustic wedding in Baguio where hotels still support the dying art of ice sculptures? Plus, rates there are slightly lower than Metro Manila and Tagaytay. 

We also have to think about our guests. Ivan believes Baguio would be great since our relatives from abroad would enjoy it and extend their stay there to check out the tourist spots. But at the same time, the logistics and expenses involved in booking transportation and accommodations can be a hassle. Do we (and our guests) want to worry about that?

If we choose Tagaytay, my guests (many are from south of Manila like Cavite) can just drive back and forth for the day. Easy peasy.  

Burnham Lake. Photo by Tine Sabillo.

WHICH MONTH?

Now we’re hoping to get married in December, the month where we became a couple four years ago. It also ties in with our secret theme.

December is a great time to get married because the weather will be cooler but drier. And our relatives from the US can fly home and spend Christmas here at the same time. 

Perhaps these are the same reasons why December is peak season for weddings. Some locations increase prices during peak months. Locations are also fully-booked. I called Calaruega church in Tagaytay the other day and they said there are only around five days available for December! And that includes Christmas. 

And Baguio is just crazy around Christmas. We tried booking tickets for one of those premiere buses going to Baguio and it was all sold out. If we get married during December, can our family and friends even book hotels and transportation to get to our wedding?

And we’re actually not escaping the Manila traffic because I just learned that traffic in Baguio during December is hell.

Of course, Tagaytay is like that as well. A lot of people leave Metro Manila during December. Do we really want to be where everybody else is?

So now, we’ve decided to be flexible with our dates. Maybe if we decide to do it in Baguio we’ll have it two or three weeks before Christmas or even another month. 

For now, we’re looking forward to actually visiting the churches and wedding venues we picked. As my aunt said, we’ll know when we get there. Maybe we’ll get that magical feeling when we step into the Baguio Cathedral or see Madre de Dios? Let’s see.

For my Week 2 post, I’ll be sharing how we shortlisted our church and venue choices. Those also searching for venues might find that interesting as I’ll go through each one. For those who are further into the process of wedding preparations or have already been married, I would love to hear about your own experience and maybe suggestions?

Leave a comment